|
Haven't registered yet? Do it here now!
|
|
|
|
Scott C
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 18
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 11:33 am Post subject: Cronjob command syntax with PHP on my host - is it working? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
After installation, the Active Cronjobs List In Cronjobs Settings was empty so I set it manually in my hosting control panel (at GoDaddy.com - my hosting control panel is not CPanel). It lets me create a Cronjob command by browsing my domain and selecting the rpcron.php file, and then it fills in the command field with:
/web/cgi-bin/php5 "$HOME/html/rp/rpcron.php"
I noticed that it doesn't include the PHP path "usr/local/bin/php" (though I verified this location is correct by running the <? passthru("whereis php");?> command like you suggested)
According to my host support, the Cronjob is enabled and should work just fine. They cite the following:
The installed versions of PHP 4 and PHP 5 do not support the interpreter specification in a PHP file. In order to run a PHP script via Cron, you must specify the interpreter manually. For example:
PHP 4: /web/cgi-bin/php "$HOME/html/test.php"
PHP 5: /web/cgi-bin/php5 "$HOME/html/test.php5" Note: In this example script, "$HOME" represents the full path to your Shared Hosting account. The actual path to your account will be provided if you select the the script from your account using the Browse button.
My question is:
However, even after I have set up the Cronjob, when I go back and look at the "Cronjobs Settings" in the Rocket Pinger Administration Controls, the Active Cronjobs List is still empty. Shouldn't it show the Cron job I just created now? I DID check the rpcronjobs file and it now contains the single line:
/web/cgi-bin/php5 "$HOME/html/rp/rpcron.php"
Does this mean it will work okay? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Atanasis Owner
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 4284 Location: The Net
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
no, it won't as you did it.
First, your host support pasted you:
/web/cgi-bin/php5 "$HOME/html/rp/rpcron.php"
it can't be like that, they tell you $HOME is the path, so you need to replace it.
go and setup the cronjob like this at the place in your hosting panel:
/web/cgi-bin/php5 /full/path/to//html/rp/rpcron.php
once you set it up, you won't see it in the "Active cronjobs list", because it can see only added automatically cronjobs.
and finally your "rpcronjobs" file should be empty, don't leave any text in it. _________________ Thanks,
Kaktusan
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Scott C
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 18
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 7:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Atanasis wrote: | go and setup the cronjob like this at the place in your hosting panel:
/web/cgi-bin/php5 /full/path/to//html/rp/rpcron.php
|
So, when I set up the Cronjob in my hosting panel, should I leave out both the "-q" switch before the full path and the " >> /dev/null" at the end of the command?
Thanks |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Atanasis Owner
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 4284 Location: The Net
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 8:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
yes, probably you don't need to use them since they are specific for the regular php executable being used. _________________ Thanks,
Kaktusan
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Scott C
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 18
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
OK, but I'm still not sure that it is working correctly. My Cronjobs command is now:
/web/cgi-bin/php5 /home/content/t/o/p/topinvesting/html/rp/rpcron.php
Also, when I look at the rpsettings table in the MySQL database, it shows the PHP path is:
/usr/local/bin/php
instead of:
/web/cgi-bin/php5
Could that be the problem? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Atanasis Owner
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 4284 Location: The Net
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 9:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
yes, could be it. in "general settings->php settings" you need to specify the full system path to the php executable.
/web/cgi-bin/php5
is relative path to your domain, not full path. also you need to use the full path for your cronjob too _________________ Thanks,
Kaktusan
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Scott C
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 18
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 11:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
My Cronjob now executes correctly because my host support informed me that I have PHP4, not PHP5, installed. So now my Cronjob command reads:
/web/cgi-bin/php /home/content/t/o/p/topinvesting/html/rp/rpcron.php
However, after the Cron job successfully runs, the RP Administration Panel still shows NO Automated Ping Events History.
I put /web/cgi-bin/php in General Settings--> PHP Settings. Is this right? My host support told me that the paths in the Cron job command above ARE the full paths and that rpcron.php was executed correctly. If /web/cgi-bin/php is not the full path you want me to put into General Settings--> PHP Settings, could that be because I have shared hosting instead of a dedicated server? You did not say that a dedicated host server was required to use Rocket Pinger.
I really need some help to make this work.
Thanks |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Atanasis Owner
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 4284 Location: The Net
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 11:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
no, you don;t need dedicated server, it runs fine on any shared hosts.
just i am not sure /web/cgi-bin/php is properly executing the file.
either ask your host support to run on command line the cronjob command as is:
/web/cgi-bin/php /home/content/t/o/p/topinvesting/html/rp/rpcron.php
and see if any error will be printed
or, try it yourself by making file tmp.php with code:
Code: | <?
passthru('/web/cgi-bin/php /home/content/t/o/p/topinvesting/html/rp/rpcron.php');
?>
|
and run the tmp.php file with your browser and see if anything will be printed.. _________________ Thanks,
Kaktusan
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Scott C
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 18
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
The script rpcron.php DOES execute, and the output is:
Content-type: text/html
Is this correct?
Automated Events history is still empty.
Thanks |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Atanasis Owner
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 4284 Location: The Net
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
then, it runs fine.
best would be to pm me url and pass to your RP admin so i can take a look _________________ Thanks,
Kaktusan
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|
|
|
|
| |